PermaCulture ~ Revisioning

Permaculture is …

… a holistic design system for creating sustainable human settlements and food production systems

…the harmonious integration of landscape and people, providing food, energy, shelter and other needs in a reproducible way.

So I have begun the journey, to learn, practice and integrate the principals into my life and gardens.

The last weekend of April, I took an Intro to Permaculture Course in Red Deer with these fine folks.DSCF9573

So I am beginning with my front garden area and converting to a food forest garden. It will be a lot of work. I have some plants that I will transplant/move into place. Elderberry (survived another winter), gooseberry (wild), wild rose (for hips), chives, comfrey, and today (for Mother’s Day) I bought a small cherry tree and a blueberry bush. Here’s a few pics.

And a couple of other photos of plants coming up/growing around the place.

We just celebrated Beltane… the season turns once again. Due to a complete fire ban we did not have a fire at Rise ‘n Root. But it was still a lovely evening to celebrate.

